Oryx And Crake

Author(s): Margaret Atwood

Science fiction & fantasy

The narrator of Margaret Atwood's riveting new novel is Snowman, self-named though not self-created. As the story opens, he's sleeping in a tree, wearing a dirty old bed-sheet, mourning the loss of his beautiful and beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death.
Earlier, Snowman's life was one of comparative privilege. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Was he himself in any way responsible? Why is he now left alone with his bizarre memories - alone except for the more-than-perfect green-eyed Children of Crake, who regard him as some kind of monster? The answers to these questions lie in the past - in his double journey into memory and back to Crake's high-tech bubble dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.
With breathtaking command of her shocking material and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an all-too-conceivable future of our own world, an outlandish yet wholly believable place left devastated by scientific disaster and populated by a cast of characters who will continue to inhabit your dreams long after the book is closed.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The outrageous imagination of Margaret Atwood has never been better. Dark, witty, scary and very credible, this is a mystery, an adventure story, a page-turner and a brilliant novel. Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and the Orange Prize.

Shortlisted for Orange Prize 2004. IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2005.

Margaret Atwood is the author of more than thirty books of fiction, poetry and critical essays. The Handmaid's Tale, Cat's Eye and Alias Grace have all been shortlisted for the Booker Prize, and now Oryx and Crake for the 2003 Booker prize. She has won many literary prizes in other countries.

General Fields

  • : 9780349004068
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : Virago Press
  • : 0.36
  • : August 2013
  • : 203mm X 129mm
  • : November 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Margaret Atwood
  • : Paperback